Experiments in … Nature!

Tales from the Trail

NOTE:  I wrote this post at the beginning of May.  I’ve been overwhelmed with other life crap and haven’t managed to post it until now.  Apologies. 

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been doing a fair bit of hiking lately. In fact, I’ve been trying to sample all of the local trails that I can find here in Durham. (I’ve only made a dent so far.) It’s a very nourishing task that I’ve set for myself. In fact, I never quite feel so alive and connected to the world than when I’m walking in the woods. And even more so when I’m walking in the woods by water. Needless to say, the Eno River trails have been very good for me. And these trails have gifted me in so many ways. For starters, it’s such a blessing to be reminded that I am a part of the Natural World … despite all the contriving of humans to separate ourselves from it. It’s also super sweet to have some time alone with my thoughts and my feelings. The sounds of birds, bees, scurrying creatures in grass and tree, water over rocks, and even the earth beneath my footfalls make a nice soundtrack for being with myself for a while. Then, of course, there’s the wildlife. And with the arrival of Spring, all manor of creatures have been making cameos on my walks. I’ve seen turtles, squirrels, hawks, great blue herons, snakes, millipedes, frogs, deer, and all manor of winged things. It always feels such a special blessing to be honored with a glimpse of these creatures in their natural settings going about their mundane business. Here are some photos I’ve managed to capture along some of these trail treks. Keep in mind, though, that the photos are never as magical as the actual experience. I hope these might inspire you to go get into the woods and have your own little adventures.

Much love and light to you!

melanie

Great Blue Heron in flight.
Great Blue Heron in flight.
One of a million gorgeous views of the river.
One of a million gorgeous views of the river.
Black snake scurrying off the path after being startled by my approach.
Black snake scurrying off the path after being startled by my approach.
Great Blue Heron - so statuesque.
Great Blue Heron – so statuesque.
Love abounds in Nature.
Love abounds in Nature.
Copperhead snake sunbathing on an early spring day.
Copperhead snake sunbathing on an early spring day.
More Turtles!
Turtles!
Turtles!
More Turtles!
Sweet cairn left behind by another traveler on the trail.
Sweet cairn left behind by another traveler on the trail.
Make yourself heard ... er ... read!

